The Cold, The Bears and Other Things


I’ve been busy lately, doing household things going to work and doing a little editing of my second book. Seems like I can’t fit everything into a 24 -hour period. Of course, if I could eliminate sleeping….. But that’s one of my favorite things, especially in the winter!

It’s cold up here in Northwest Indiana. At least colder than it has been in the last couple of years. But then, it’s not like it was about 20 to 25 years ago, when we hit –25. If we think that this is cold, then we certainly turned into a bunch of sissy babes. I know I have. The last few winters have pampered me. I haven’t got used to it being even a little cold.

With my Mom doing better, I went back to doing my Communion Ministry at the hospital. I was glad to get back. I didn’t realize how much I missed doing the ministry. I felt good getting back to a regular routine. Hopefully, I’ll be able to do this for a while.

With the Bears and Colts in the Super Bowl, it has been an exciting time to be in Indiana. Here, so close to Chicago, the Bears get the majority of the support. I admit I’m a Bear fan. I don’t mind if Indianapolis wins, that would be OK, except that being a Bears fan is part of living in NW Indiana. The Bears are mentioned in the “Christmas Story,” when Ralphie’s father mentioned the play of the Bears in the movie. So it’s tradition.

Besides the rest of the state of Indiana treats NW Indiana like an unwanted stepchild. Most of the time when we ask the legislature to do any thing to help us out, they say”drop dead”. They hate us in sports, especially in prep basketball. Hate our closeness to Chicago. Yet without the industrial and service strength of the area, the state would wither and die.

I guess we’re nor Republican enough, rural enough, or humble enough to be a part of the state.

What to do before the Big Game? If you’re not on too cold a climate, play a little touch football to ward off the calories while watching the game. If you are in the colder climes, play a game on a Play station or a X-box or Game cube. It may not get rid of the calories, but mostly you won’t have to watch the boring pre-game shows.

Most of all Good luck Bears and if I have to, Good luck Colts.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

