Passing Of A Legend


This morning I woke to the news that the author Kurt Vonnegut had died. He had always been one of my favorite authors when I was younger. I had read many of his books, including “Slaughterhouse Five” and “Cat’s Cradle.” His works were satirical in nature and held a hefty amount of cynicism. While I don’t think that I have ever been as cynical as Vonnegut, I always thought that reading him gave me another viewpoint to consider.

I’ve grown up a little in the years past, but I still read books that tend to challenge me, like the historian Howard Zinn or the novelist John Irving. I mix them with more traditional writers like Fr. Andrew Greeley or John Grisham. I even wade through an occasional textbook when I’m looking for some hard knowledge. I think it’s the only way to keep your mind sharp and your thinking clear. And what do you read?

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

