Bonds Hits His Record Breaker-Does It Matter?


I was just in the process of going to bed last night when I happened to turn on ESPN. Barry Bonds was at bat, again trying for no. 756. This time he got it with a drive to right center.

The crowd of course went nuts. They stopped the game and had Willie Mays speak and Henry Aaron filmed a congratulatory statement. Yet it all seemed muted, a bit unreal.

The Commissioner wasn’t there and the networks didn’t stop programming to cover the event, In other words, only a few million saw history. The cheering for Bonds was muted and not all that enthusiastic.

I suppose that being involved in a steroid probe has a lot to do with the muted reception: Maybe because it took place at 12:15 AM on the East Coast: Maybe the bridge disaster and now the mine disaster has a lot to do with the muted reception. For me, all those things contribute to my ho-hum feeling to Bonds breaking the record.

I’m just glad it’s over. Now I want to get back to watching the hopeful Cubs run for the division and watching more important new stories.

This has been like watching the Presidential Campaign. It was too long and somehow, not making much difference in the way things are right now.

One Comment

  1. Posted August 8, 2007 at 12:58 pm | Permalink

    I think it’s hard to compare records from 50 years ago to record of today because of different technology and differences in skill levels, nutrition, etc. I wish there were some way to void all steroid assisted homeruns from Barry Bond’s record. When he came into the league, he was build like me, tall and skinny, and now has no body fat. It’s sad, but he is now our HR king…


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

