Dude, Where’s My Bubble Gum?


I was in Target a couple of days ago, doing a little shopping and waiting for my mother to finish hers. I usually take her out shopping after one of her doctor appointments and this was one of those times.

Anyway, I was wandering around Target when I came to a display of trading cards, especially baseball cards. All the name brands were there, Topps, Fleer, and Upperdeck. Yep, I was in heaven as I used to have baseball and football cards as a kid.

As expected I didn’t see anything cheap, as I did growing up. Trading cards are big business these days. A well -preserved card can get thousands, maybe millions these days. It’s perhaps worse than stamp collecting.

But there was another thing I noticed. In the smaller packs, those that cost just a couple of bucks, there’s no gum! Just think no more standing in front of the drug store or candy store, with a piece of that pink gum in your mouth, chomping away and moaning when you got an unknown rookie or cheering when you got a Mantle, Berra, or a Banks. This was true especially if it was a double that you could trade for another good card to complete your collection. All that is gone by the wayside due to concerns of sugar, the effect on the teeth, and probably economics. If you want the pink gum, get a Bazooka: If you can find that gum these days.

So I ask, Topps, Fleer, Upperdeck and the others, Where’s my gum? I still have my baseball cap (Cubs, of course), I still have my mitt, and I need the gum to make the set complete.

One Comment

  1. Posted August 12, 2007 at 9:08 pm | Permalink

    Well said! Those days are long gone, and I too miss them. I even have a few football cards from the 80s that still have a hint of the gum smell. The problem is the trading cards has become too much business (indicative of the price as well as the lack of candy). I’m glad that I had those experiences.. and feel for my kids (who are now getting into the hobby), since they don’t understand.

    Those were truly great days.

    GIC


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

