Talking Heads


I admit to being a news -junky. I think that there’s more drama and comedy in what happens in the real world than all the TV shows that are put together by the networks in all the years of broadcasting.

These days, however, I tend to shy away from watching the news programs as I once did in the late ‘80’s and ‘90’s. Why, you might ask? It’s because of the spate of commentary programs that dominate the airwaves, taking place over just pure reporting.

You have O’Reilly, Oberman, Beck, Grace and who knows who else, Ranting and raving about anything from the Iraq War to OJ to some poor smuck in the street that got him or her self in some kind of jam. They talk about it constantly, usually tainted by their own political, social, moral and philosophical ideas. Many times they reflect the thinking of the people that own the networks. For instance, CNN is more liberal, so you get that viewpoint, Fox is more conservative so you have that viewpoint in focus.

Many times it even affects their straight news stories. You can tell by the use of certain words, inflection and body language.

You even have the commentators attacking each other. O’ Reilly attacks Oberman and MSNBC; Oberman does the same to O’Reilly and Fox. CNN attacks O’ Reilly and vice versa. Tit for tat: and for what? Mostly ratings, I believe. They want the best rating in that important 8 to 10 period in the evening and will go to any lengths to achieve it.

I don’t know. That’s probably why I spend my time reading, writing, and playing video games. When I do watch TV, I watch sports. Give me straight news reporting any day. Give me something I can make my own decisions on. Give me back my TV.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

