Three Elves and Holiday Cheer


We’re in the midst of the holiday rush and the time to enjoy all the rushing around that we have to do. Fun, isn’t it? I started thinking about it about a week before Thanksgiving.
I don’t dread it. Actually, I look forward to it. There are certain things that get me to thinking about the Christmas Season.

One thing is actually three elves, better known as Hardrock, Coco and Joe. This is an animated cartoon first produced in the early 1950’s. This, along with Suzy Snowflake and Frosty the Snowman were staples on a kiddie show that was seen by millions in the Chicago area. That show was the Garfield Goose Show, on WGN-TV.

Garfield Goose was the King of the United States, sort of like George Bush thinks he is these days. Of course both ideas are preposterous, but I thought I’d mention it anyway.

I used to have a clacking Garfield Goose puppet. I’m sure my sisters loved that: But the cartoons. What about them?

All three of the cartoons were on the Garfield Goose show during the Christmas season. The cartoons were simple and not anything like they are today. But the songs are still in my head, Simple and Innocent. They are a definite part of growing up in the Calumet Region and the Chicago area.

I got a tape of the three cartoons. They sit in my old VCR after my player refused to play one cold December day a couple of years ago. I’m planning to rescue that tape today and get back my childhood, if only for a little while.

If that fails I plan to get the digital re-mastered DVD that recently came out. One way or the other my childhood innocence must be preserved! I want to show my niece what stupid thing her parents once watched as they were growing up.

Then I plan to record a Mario Lanza Christmas Album that I found on iTunes. I guess I want a traditional Christmas. The years are flying past. There may be fewer times to enjoy what we have today. Grab your chance while you can, before they disappear in the wind and the snow.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

