Coming Soon: A New Year To Mess Up In


The year 2007 is drawing to a close. I pretty much did what I planned to do this past year; with the exception of being laid off from my job. I finished getting another book out: “In The Company of Legends,” on Booklocker.com. I expanded on my blog, for the most part writing 2 or 3 times a week. I have received over 6,000 hits in the past year, a pretty good total for an amateur.

I also received some local good publicity for my book, thanks to Jane Ammeson and the Times.  While it may have not generated any sales, it was good for the ego and helped spread the word about Nanowrimo.com and what they do.

All in all, I think it was a fairly successful year.

What about next year? After thinking about it, I know there are some things I need to do. One is, to find employment. That has to number one. It has been nice to have the time off and enjoy Christmas. But, now I have to focus my energy in finding some work.  I began yesterday filing a number of applications and will do so over the next few weeks. Then, I need to hone my skills for the interviews. The couple that I had were fine, but I need to get better so I can be noticed more in that part of the process.

Second is to decide and work on my next book. I need to decide if I want to do a novel or write a non- fiction book. I have an idea for a non- fiction philosophical kind of book, but I need to get a better grip on what I want to say. The fiction book is an idea that I have been kicking around for awhile. It’s based on living in the Hammond, Indiana area. It would work if I can get the details and the interviews together. Sometimes the details overtake the basic idea. I might get overwhelmed in the process.

Last. There is the blog. Do I want to continue here or create my own web site? Do I want to expand to writing a blog on Northwest Indiana? That is in addition to writing this blog. I need to decide at some point.

There’s a lot on my plate. But, I’m sure there are a lot on yours, also.  We’ll see what happens as the year goes by. After all we have a year to decide.

3 Comments

  1. Posted December 27, 2007 at 8:08 pm | Permalink

    I loved the title of this post. It really drew me in when I was browsing writing blogs. 🙂 Anyway, just wanted to wish you luck with work and writing and the like. And, hey, you’re in a really fun point of the writing process now–anything can happen. Hope you enjoy it.

  2. Posted December 28, 2007 at 2:48 pm | Permalink

    What line of work are you applying for?

    I’d highly support the NW Indiana blog idea, we are sadly missing any kind of blogger or non-major media community in NW Indiana. Chris Hedges has pointed out that Ft. Wayne has a very active community, but sadly no such thing here.

  3. Posted December 28, 2007 at 6:35 pm | Permalink

    Steve, I’m applying just about everywhere. Mostly retail and stocking since most of my work experience are in stock and supplies. Also planning to apply to some entry level management jobs as I was an assistant supervisor at my previous job.

    I’m more or less sure to start another blog on NW Indiana. I, too believe that a blog in this group of communities is needed. Although I think many would find my thoughts a bit more on the liberal side, compared to others I have seen.

    By the way interested in helping me promote my two books?


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

