Obamaboy


The field has dwindled down to 4 viable candidates for the US Presidency: John McCain and Mike Hucabee for the Republicans and Hillary Clinton and Barrack Obama for the Democrats.

Huckabee has little chance in overtaking McCain, unless conservatives rally behind him and cause a fight at the Republican Convention. I doubt that will happen, at this point I consider that McCain has it. But he’ll have a tough time getting elected. He’ll have to change his stance on immigration. If he does he can kiss the Latino vote good-bye. If he doesn’t change his view, he will anger many conservative, who will again sit out, at the very least.

If McCain changes his mind on the Bush Tax cuts, he will be accused of flip-flopping. If he doesn’t support the Tax Cuts, again the conservatives will be angered. He has a rough road to walk through in the next months. And I have not even mentioned the Iraq War.

If McCain supports the war effort as it exist today. Then he will have some problems. I wonder if the American people will want an open ended presence in Iraq. My feeing is that I don’t think so. To be aligned with Bush in this area, may do more harm than he realizes.

On the Democratic side, I really don’t want Hillary. I think her strident approach in campaigning leave me cold. I think she is too divisive and makes too many promises. I would vote for her over McCain, but it would be with the proverbial clothes -pin on my nose. She may be a good person and might make a good president, but unfortunately, she has too much baggage through the years that would hurt her chances.

That leaves Obama. I feel his campaign has been the most exciting since Robert Kennedy in 1968. That’s 40 long years! I believe he will work with all sides and be less of a lightning rod than Hillary, unless the conservatives are as mean and foolhardy as they were with the Clintons over the years. His ideas are well thought out and he is trying to run a campaign based more on a positive program than Clinton.  I also think he is more electable than Hillary

So, yes I am an Obamaboy. I don’t mind saying so. It doesn’t mean much. Who reads these blogs, anyway? I live in Indiana, so who knows if my vote will help decide the nomination. But I hope he makes history and gets to the White House.  We need a new face and fresh ideas in the White House, no matter who is elected.

4 Comments

  1. switchhitter
    Posted February 26, 2008 at 9:48 pm | Permalink

    Hey! I read these blogs anyway! I happened upon yours by clicking on the “next random blog” link and thought I’d leave a comment or two as I enjoyed your posts and the way you write. I’m English but I’m watching your election with great interest, and I’m fascinated by the Obama phenomena. Having visited his campaign site, I think he could be a great president and I would love to see it happen.

  2. Posted February 27, 2008 at 1:02 am | Permalink

    Hey! Switchhitter!

    I thought when I saw your moniker that you were a baseball fan from the states! LOL!

    Really though, Obama is a breath of fresh air from the usual political talk! That’s why he’s popular. If he can accomplish at least half that he hopes to do. That will be better than anyone has done as president on the last 30 years. I personally hope he makes it, but it’s a long way to November and with the country the way it is, any thing can happen!

  3. switchhitter
    Posted February 27, 2008 at 12:37 pm | Permalink

    I really hope so – I saw some of the debate online last night (not too much though-it was 2am!) and he seems very composed under pressure and a real statesman. I think they both have interesting healthcare proposals and that should help a lot of people – I can’t imagine what it must be like not to have a free at the point entry healthcare system – the cost must be a real worry. As for Iraq, well I think only a miracle can sort that out…just seems to be a lot of people dying for no reason.

    Oh and I do follow baseball!(only for a year though – I’m still learning!) Go Cubbies! I love football too (and soccer of course) and I went to see the Giants/Dolpins game at Wembley last year with my sons. Great day, horrible game!

    I see that Rex has been signed for another year – so that’s another fun season watching him throw into triple coverage! LOL!

  4. Posted February 27, 2008 at 4:53 pm | Permalink

    LOL! You chose the right baseball team! I’ve been a Cub fan for almost 50 years and am looking forward to the 2008 season. I’ll watch when I can, thogh my main task is to find another job after being laid off.

    Obama seemed cool and collected during the debate and carried that same class throughout the whole debate. It’s not that I don’t think that Hillary would not make a good president. It’s just that 20 years of Bush-Clinton-Bush and now Clinton again is to much of the same diviseness for the country to go through again. I like Obama’s style and attempts to work out things with both sides.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

