Job Hunting: The Jungle Out There


In the last few months, I have been looking for a job since I was laid off at the hospital, where I have worked for over 30 years. Not everyday, mind you. The weather has been bad this winter and I didn’t want to chance it going out in all the bad weather and apply for jobs. Also, I still have a disability check coming in monthly. So, at least until July, I’m ok.

Still I have been applying online and have had a few interviews. Nothing has obviously paid off, but I’m not discouraged. I never had to look for work before, so even when I might not get the jobs, I feel that I’m learning about myself and my strengths and weaknesses in being interviewers.

What have I learned?  One: that I need to be confident, but not cocky. Two: I need to look more directly at the interviewer. Three: I need to study more fully what each company is about.

One thing I have learned is that everyone is looking for experience. So, there are times that I need to show that while I may not have the experience that is directly applied to that particular job, I have had some similar experience that can be applied.

The present economy is another factor in the slow going in finding a job. The slow down has caused a slow down in hiring. I think it will take a while till I find something.

I have my resume out there and I have had a few feelers, but nothing definite. I also had a few work from home scams come my way. Any of them I investigate and find fault with. If it’s too good to be true, it usually is.

I’m thinking of getting some job training if something doesn’t pop up yet. I just had two interviews,  so, I’ll see what happens. I’ll be glad to get  out of the jungle, soon.

.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

