News Flash: I Have a Job


After 6 months of being unemployed, I finally found a job. It’s not a great paying job or one I would want to keep forever, but it’s a start and a chance for advancement. So, I took it.

I must have applied to over 50 places and made calls to as many contacts as I could. I will again tell anyone: If you have a job, do your best to keep it. And if you are looking for a job, just remember, it’s a jungle out there.

In a way I got lucky. The job market is really getting bad right about now. So I got in before the rush. I plan not to lose it. I would expect that if you are looking, once you find something you won’t want to lose it either.

One nice thing occurred while I was saying good- bye to some people at my old job.  The supervisor, where I did some Communion Ministry while I was laid off wants me to relate some of my experiences while recovering from my transplant. There are a couple of groups that said that they want to hear my story. I’ll do that if it can be arranged. It would be nice to share my story and bring some people some hope.

Right now, I am looking forward to getting back to work and being out again. It’s been a long weary winter. I plan to make this work. Whatever you do, plan also to make it work.

One Comment

  1. Posted April 9, 2008 at 7:07 pm | Permalink

    Congratulations on your new job! I recommend joining LinkedIn (a free networking tool on the web). It’s aimed at people who want to build a network of job contacts- it’s a great resource for when and if you want to move on to a new job.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

