Biting Reality


I’ve been away recently. Mostly, busy with working and taking care of things at home. But things haven’t gone as smoothly as I had hoped. It seems that reality has taken hold and I’ve been forced to bite off a huge chunk of it and even had to swallow.

It didn’t taste very good, but I’m glad it’s over with, for now. What happened? I’ll tell you.

I’ve been forced to quit my job. It’s my decision, though. Not all of the reasons were based on what was happening at the company. It seems that my mother has not been well as of late and someone needed to take care of her and since I live with her, well, I’ll, I’m elected.

I’m not angry with that. After all, she took care of me when I was sick a few years ago. Again, it was a decision that was logically made, given that she had doctor visits that had to be made and such. It was the right thing to do. So I’m not the suffering martyr in this.

There were some issues with the store that led me to my decision, also. One was the right of management to ignore requests for time off. It seems that even if you ask for time off to see your doctor and let management know it. You may still not get the time off; even if you request it almost a month ahead of time. If I lived by my self, I could possible live with that and work around it. But with my Mother as part of the consideration, I couldn’t see myself doing that.

I’m not angry, just disappointed. However, as I go on, I will try to learn from my mistakes on this job.

I also am thinking of going back to school and getting my Masters Degree and possibly teaching. I thought I’d do this at an online college and either receive a MA in Education or in History. If I did I could even teach at an online college. That would be great, since my voice is shot to smithereens from the heart-lung transplant and long recovery. If you have any college recommendations, just let me know.

Lastly, I went to my old parish yesterday for a little trip down memory lane. While it did bring back some pleasant memories, like the old Rick Nelson song, it didn’t feel the same.

They are trying hard to get back to being the dynamic parish that they once were. But, too many changes have taken place in the area around them, for that to happen. There are too many new faces, new challenges and new problems for the parish to face.

You can see it in some of the faces. Some are resigned and some are energized. Some see that no matter what is done, there will never be the same parish as they had 20 years ago. I guess they are biting reality, also.

I guess it’s time to change course and start all over. Some times you eat the bear, some times the Bear eats you.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

