Meet The New Year, Same as The Old Year


I know I haven’t written much lately. I have a good reason. My mother has been ill over the last couple of months and I have spent a lot of time taking care of whatever she has needed.

It has been a tough few months and one that I wouldn’t wish in anyone. Luckily, I have a faith in God and believe everything happens for a reason. While the situation is bleak, I believe that all things happen for a reason and if I can learn something from what is happening, the better I will become.

So, right now, the New Year is not much different from the Old Year. I did though, have a good Christmas. Spending it at my younger sisters house and staying for a few days as the weather was too bad to get back home. I was sort of like the guest that never wanted to leave.

I stayed up until midnight, reading and munching on a few potato chips and root beer. I kept the TV low and when the hour reached 12, turned out the lights and turned over in bed, relieved that one more year had passed and I am still here, doing whatever I am supposed to do.

I visited my Mom today at the nursing home and caught a few moments of the hockey game televised at he Frozen Confines of Wrigley Field. The old guy with the walker cheered the Blackhawks and really seemed to enjoy himself. With just the two of us in the lounge, I figured, “Go ahead knock yourself out. At least you are enjoying yourself.” He was another person, leading a satisfied life. I say, more power to him.

Well, I better go and get ready for another relaxing evening. Well I better go and relax. I hope your day was a good one. I hope your year is a blessed one, Believe it or not, I am ready for whatever come my way. It can only get better from here.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

