Some Last Thoughts On Obama Inauguration


I know that the Inauguration was over a week ago, but I’ve been busy with a number of things and haven’t had a chance to write down any thoughts on the day or what it means to me.

Besides all the History that the day implied, there was a personal note that I thought about and I wanted to share that with all of you.

On a cool gray and rainy day in late October of 2004, I was riding with a friend of mine to Hennepin, Illinois, where he lived. Jerry and I talked about many things during the two- hour ride to his house. Eventually, the tall wandered into the area of politics and the upcoming election that year.

We both noted the impressive speech given by Barack Obama that year at the Democratic Convention. We both were impressed by his campaign for the Senate and expected him to win big that year. He did win big and set the stage for what was to follow four years later.

We both hoped that eventually Obama would have the opportunity to run for the Presidency in the future. When John Kerry lost to George Bush in 2004, the possibility of Obama running became sooner that later.

My friend passed away three weeks after the election in 2008. In our last conversation before his sudden passing, he told me that, like me, he had voted for Obama and was proud and happy that Obama had won. His vote helped create part of history that he could be proud of/

My buddy would not make it to see the Inauguration. I’m sure, however, that he was happy looking down on all of us celebrating the making of history this past January 20, 2009.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

