Another Story From The Naked City


Yesterday, I spent the whole day taking care of financial matters for my mother who is now in a nursing home. It was a long, tiring day. One in which I am still recovering from as I write this. It meant visiting banks and talking to financial people and talking on the phone to lawyers and my financial advisor. I guess I have a negative view of money. Maybe I just felt that I am acting greedy, just like the rest of us. I don’t know. One thing was for sure, I felt uneasy and on edge during the whole process.

I also had to fight traffic. These last few days, I have been all over. From Valparaiso, Indiana to back home, spending a lot of time in the car and seeing more of what do that is stupid on the road. Then again, I’m sure some of the things that I do might cause people to think that I am a stupid driver, also. I suppose it takes one to know one, as they say.

I can’t wait to finish all of this. As ugly as it might seem to be, I know that doing all of this financial stuff will be a help to the family and will fulfill my mothers wish to protect what is hers, So, no matter what I feel, I have to believe that I am doing the right thing for the right reasons.

At he end of the day, I went to the fish fry at my local parish. I needed something to eat as I had not really eaten since breakfast in the morning.  As I was eating I noticed one thing, the kids.

The older kids didn’t seem as happy as I was when I was their age. They seemed a little jaded and bored; even when they were together with each other. Maybe it was the mood I was in, but I was definitely in tune with what I saw and felt. In mind my mind I thought, for them the thrill is gone.

Then I saw two little girls. They were running and jumping and most importantly, smiling. They were smiling as if they had not a care in the world. Enjoying youth as it should be. They had all the possibilities before them; not disappointments behind them.

That is the way I remember growing up. I may be jaded now. I may have grown up and faced reality and found it wanting.  But no one can take away those thoughts I had when I was young. I could be what I wanted then; let the truth happen later.

Another story from the naked city.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

