Shred Me


Over the last few weeks I’ve been going through a lot of old papers and documents in an attempt to get rid of the clutter that seems to engulf me, as I get older. I want to make things simpler and more stress free. So, these days, I look at and shred the things that are long overdue in getting rid of.

As I go through the process, I find myself going through a review of my life. Some of the things that I have written, I ask myself: did I write that? Did I do this? Sometimes I ask myself the question in horror and sometimes it is in amazement.

Yes, it is a chance to look at your failures one more time.  But it is also a chance to celebrate your successes and triumphs. Life is full of either. Between the outdated bills and pay slips, there are notes of encouragement given and received.  There are letters that you received and those that you may have never sent.

All of these are opportunities lost and gained. The fabric of out lives that as we shred them away, we can look back on them one last time and learn from them, if we haven’t already.

This may not be the most profound thought of the day, but it is heartfelt. We might shred a lot of paper in our lifetime, but we can never shred the memories that make up our lives each and every day. Make the most of what you shred.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

