I Felt the Warmth of the Sun


Finally spring decided to arrive and announce itself. I felt the warmth of the sun as a I stepped outside in my faded jeans and a t-shirt and prepared to do battle with the lawn and outdoor chores.

I surveyed the damage that winter winds and snow had done to the yard and saw that perhaps most everything had survived. The grass is battle scarred though. I’ll have to get an army together to whip it back into shape. Send in reinforcements (new seeds), and get the ammunition ready (fertilize).

After the hardest part of the work was done for the day, I sat in the front stairs and looked around the neighborhood. I looked at the trees next store. You could almost see the green buds popping as they wake up from the long winter sleep. Each second brings new life.

With all going on around me, sometimes I feel out of tune with the rest of the world. Sitting on the steps in front of my house is one way to learn a new song, or perhaps remember an old favorite one.

One Comment

  1. Posted April 24, 2009 at 5:30 pm | Permalink

    Hey, I just found your blog while out searching for more readers, and got caught up by your post.

    Beautiful days are so hard to come by anymore, it seems like we’re obligated to take advantage of them when they come around. I’m glad you shared your day with me. Maybe I’ll go out and find some way to enjoy the sun too.

    Thank you.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

