…And Then There Were The Jesus Socks


I had to do some errands this week and finally had the time to do so. With my Mom now home from the Nursing Home, my time is somewhat limited. I’m busy most of the time, with taking care of her, working on the house and other household chores.

So I stopped at the Family Dollar. It’s a pretty good place if you need some necessities. They are at the right price (cheap) and won’t break your wallet.

The Family Dollar is near our house and I noticed that they had rearranged the place and it wasn’t as crowded as it was before. Of course that meant that stuff wasn’t in the places that they were before. I had to walk around to find what I was looking for.

A lot of the people that come to a Family Dollar (or otheer stores like it) are usually poorer than you find at the big shopping malls. The products you find there are good but sometimes gaudy. This is true of the bed clothes, comforters, blankets, pillow cases etc.

There are all kinds of things in the store; not a big variety, but a little of everything. I walked around and ther was a hispanic family speaking Spanish, of course. They were jabbering away amd I just smiled at them. It reminded me of the time I was in Montreal.

In Montreal, I was riding on the subway and was standing in between two people speaking French (Montreal is bi lingual-French and English). I was listening back and forth and when one spoke French to me I just laughed and shook my head. They could have told me that I was a fool or worse, but I wouldn’t know. So much for trying to act intelligent.

Anyway, I was looking at all the stuff at the store and then there were the Jesus socks. Yep sock with the phrase “Jesus saves” on them. Now that was unusual. I thought that that carried the Jesus message a bit over the edge. I can see it on buttons or t-shirts, but who looks at socks? I usually stop looking at a person when I get to the knees. I hardly look at a persons feet.

But, each to their own. I won’t condemn it. If it helps someone in their faith, I won’t knock. After all, what would Jesus do if he saw his name on a pair of socks.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

