It’s Christmas Week


This week is Christmas week and it will be a busy time for me this year. I finished the last of the food shopping today as I had to get a few things for our traditional Christmas Eve meal. It’s a meatless meal as would be celebrated in Poland. With Pierogi, beet soup, and fish and shrimp. This year I’ll make the pierogi. My sister will appreciate the help; though I think I’ll be more of a nuisence.

We open gifts as a family om Christmas Eve. In past years, I used to go and meet friends at Midnight Mass and have a lat night/early morning breakfast with them. But our crowd has grown samller with each passing year and our parish does not have a midnight mass anymore. Times and corcunstances have changed. It’s doesn’t mean it’s good or bad, just different. I sometimesa miss the old days. But mostly it means mew traditions are ready to be made and new opportunity is always around the corner.

There’s a lot to be thankful for. My Mom us home this year. Last year, she was in the hospital amd not doing well. It made for a dreary Christmas. My sister did the best to make it nice and it was, but it wasn’t the same as having “Polak Christmas’ here at home,

Chrustmas Day is anti-climatic. I usually just sit home and and relax and watch TV. Maybe talk to some friends on the phone. But, then that’s the way I like it, low key and mellow. Just have to remember why we celebrate Christmas. It about the birth of Christ- the reason for the Season. You have to keep that in mind. I try to do that in spite of Santa Claus and th gifts and all. After all, without His birth there wouldn’t be a Christmas and no reason to celebrate.

Merry Christmas to all and to all a Good Week!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

